Swan Works, Potclays Ltd – Cherished memories?

Today, I was taking a stroll down “memory lane” and thought about the old clay mining site on Pelsall Road, Brownhills. The site entrance is directly opposite The Swan Pub and has been a part of my memories ever since I used to walk to nursery school along the Pelsall Road into Brownhills. It’s called Swan Works which is part of Potclays Limited and is the original site in the group. Established around 1932 and it has covered the Pelsall Road in its boring, dull battleship grey coloured clay deposits from it lorries ever since.

It is now the home of The Craft Patch. They appear to be a craft / scrapbook business and they also offer workshops and classes too.

Swan Works, Potclays - Main Entrance View from Pelsall Road, Brownhills - (05/03/12)

I thought I would post a few photographs that I snapped earlier today and also a few from some dedicated local historians. I am quite a new blogger on the scene and have quickly discovered that when I’m going to post something on my blog… the original Brownhills blogger… BrownhillsBob has already covered the subject of my post on several occasions previously in very detailed posts. He must have researched the topics in vast detail and worked tirelessly to create a library of wealthy knowledge on his blog.

Nonetheless, I still feel that I am able to post my views and voice my opinion and my followers will hopefully continue to return.

Rushton Bucyrus Dragline Excavator - A relic of times gone by, still present at the Swan Works site. (05/03/12)

Swan Works, Potclays - Works Entrance from Coppice Side, Brownhills (05/03/12)

I would love to hear from any past employees from the site and would be interested in any stories or information you have to share from your time as an employee. Plus any old photographs of the buildings, clay extraction operation or the land in general would be appreciated and would find there way to a special post on the blog.

The following photographs are courtesy from a forum member named “Chedd” in December 2008 on the Midlands Heritage Website and the original post by Chedd can be found here.

Image thanks to "Chedd" - Midlands Heritage Forum, December 2008

Image thanks to "Chedd" - Midlands Heritage Forum, December 2008

Image thanks to "Chedd" - Midlands Heritage Forum, December 2008

Image thanks to "Chedd" - Midlands Heritage Forum, December 2008

Image thanks to "Chedd" - Midlands Heritage Forum, December 2008

I do hope that the site is preserved for future generations and a museum on the site would be a great idea and surly would attract people into Brownhills with their children. Otherwise another part in the history of Brownhills would be lost again… which I feel is happening far too often recently. I don’t think they could develop the site into housing due to the years of excavation and soft wet clay foundations which is a bonus as I’m fed up of new houses being built in Brownhills.

Please contact me if you do have old photo’s or stories or used to work at the site.

Barry.

***** UPDATE *****

Just thought I would add an aerial view of the site; courtesy of Bing maps. (How would we cope without Google Maps and Bing Maps… I just don’t know!)

Aerial View of Swan Works, Potclays, Pelsall Road, Brownhills - Courtesy of Bing Maps UK 2012

Aerial View of Swan Works, Potclays, Pelsall Road, Brownhills - Courtesy of Bing Maps UK 2012

Aerial View of Swan Works, Potclays, Pelsall Road, Brownhills - Courtesy of Bing Maps UK 2012

Aerial View of Swan Works, Potclays, Pelsall Road, Brownhills - Courtesy of Bing Maps UK 2012

Barry.