Much room? No it’s a mushroom!

Here are a few images of a fungi… mushrooms or whatever you call it from the part of the world that you may emanate from. I believe there is an interesting story to tell but I not really sure… It’s something like, you can find North when lost because moss grows on the north facing siding of trees / rocks / objects etc. I’ll have to confirm that with Ray Mears and get back to you later.

Mushrooms, Mushrooms, keep them in the dark,
Mushrooms, Mushrooms, I heard the boss remark,
You feed them bits of bullshit till they can't take any more,
When they stick their heads up cut them off and ship them out the door!

Same tree stump with fungi / mushroom.

 

Same tree stump with fungi / mushroom.

 

Same tree stump with fungi / mushroom.

These photographs were taken during my walk along the old disused railway line adjacent to Coppice Industrial Estate and Engine Lane, Brownhills. Can anyone tell me if these are edible or poisonous?

Barry.