November is NaNoWriMo month

Stephen Liddell

November is the month that can bring whoops of delight and shudders of fear amongst writers around the globe.  It is of course NaNoWrimo or National Novel Writing Month for those not in the know.  It is an event that brings hundreds of thousands of writers at all levels or experience and ability and leads them on a roller-coaster ride towards a completed novel of 50,000 words.

I’ve never been a big fan of Nanowrimo and as I have got more into my writing and maybe even slightly better at it, my enthusiasm for it has only steadily reduced.  Nanowrimo can be good, it engenders a sense of community and camaraderie.  Bashing out those 1,667 words every day to make that target can be slightly addictive especially when you see that purple progress bar get ever lengthier.

I always enjoyed reading the forums on the site.  Reading the trials and…

View original post 1,446 more words