Filet Mignon or College?

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Like many families out there, budget is always a concern. I feel blessed that I am not generally living paycheck to paycheck, but when it comes to deciding what to have for dinner each night, it is not filet mignon every night. Well…..the other night it was!

Several years ago in a quest to cook items that I had heard of but not cooked yet, I stumbled upon Steak au Poivre. I made my grocery list and went up to the butcher counter. “Four filet mignon steaks in the 5-8 ounce range” I told them. They smiled, put four steaks on a tray and wrapped it up. They even put a nice sticker with the price on it – $8642.23!

I may be exaggerating a bit, but it was not cheap. I went home, cooked them and the meat with the sauce was so buttery and smooth. I fell in…

View original post 293 more words